SAGBRAW – Day Three

Tuesday, August 2, 2016 – Ok, that was weird, I dreamt of waking up three times before I actually woke up at 5:08am. Just plain strange. Heavy ground fog but seemed to be clear above. I think Rod Serling was in charge of set design this morning. Breakfast is off site so it’s pack  up and then eat. Hit the road about 6:40.

10 miles – 52 minutes saddle time, 11.3 mph ave, 7:13am, – sunny and no wind. Ground fog is gone.

21.2 miles – first water station, 1:50 saddle time, 11.4 mph ave, 8:17am – pretty flat, sunny with minimal breeze. Beautiful day.

30 miles – 2:36 saddle time, 11.4 mph ave, 9:20am – water station coming up at 34 miles…l’ll take a break there.

Cool spot for the water station break – Cave Point Park…Lake Michigan has washed a huge cave under the rock outcropping I’m standing on.

40 miles – 3:25 saddle time, 11.6 mph ave, 10:18am – beautiful day, continued slight breeze and sunny.

50 miles- 4:20 saddle time, 11.4 mph ave, 11:16am – Wanted to stop at Sister Bay for lunch and refreshments but it was packed and the one place that caught my attention with a ‘cold beer’ sign was closed…drat…on to Elison Bay.

Ellison Bay/Fitzgerald Park – 54.2 miles, 4:42 saddle time,  11.4 mph ave, 11:39am – found a good place to set up for the night.

Took a 2 hour plus nap and then headed downtown. Apparently this place only has two bar/restaurants but the Mink River Basin has 34 beers on tap and great food…and we spend two nights here…life is tough.

Two observations on this tour to date:

First, cyclists are overwhelming liberal politically. Scott Walker would be persona non grata here and that includes the views of people from other states who are on the tour.

Second, this a much more relaxed group than the folks at GRABAAWR. I’m amazed at how few people pass me on the route. Of our 330+ riders I’m finishing the daily route in the top 60. Riders are much more relaxed and into enjoying the ride.

And one final observation, I’m a solo rider. My speed is so erratic that I can’t keep pace with anyone. Had this happen at Bike Florida where a woman wanted to ride with me and our paces just didn’t match. There’s a rider here from Blue River who is at my overall speed level but I can’t keep a pace that works for others.

Plus I can’t carry on a conversation while riding in part because of my shortness of breath, especially on inclines. Some of the riders think I’m being unsocial. Talked with a rider at yesterday’s bar stop and he was surprised I even talked to him because I only had a  slight response when he passed me twice earlier on the route.

Things I didn’t expect.

Looks like it won’t rain tonight and that’s ok with me. Don’t need to test the rainfly for leaks.

 

Leave a comment